Tinubu picks APC Presidential ticket


Former governor of Lagos state, Bola Tinubu, has won the presidential primary election of the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC).
He polled 1,271 votes to defeat his closest rivals, Rotimi Amaechi, former transport minister and Vice President Yemi Osinbajo who scored 316 and 235 votes respectively. Thirteen aspirants contested for the party’s presidential ticket.
They include former minister of state for education, Chukwuemeka Nwajiuba, Pastor Tunde Bakare, Mr Ahmed Rufai, Senator Rochas Okorocha, Mr Jack Rich, Governor Ben Ayade of Cross Rivers state, Governor David Umahi of Ebonyi, Senator Ahmed Yarima, Senate President, Ahmed Lawan, Osinbajo, Amaechi, Governor Yahaya Bello of Kogi state and Mr. Ogbonnaya Onu.
Nine aspirants had earlier stepped down, eight of whom asked their supporters to vote for Tinubu, while one asked his supporters to vote for Osinbajo.
Those who stepped down before voting began are Governor Abubakar Badaru of Jigawa, Robert Boroffice, Ken Nnamani, Ibikunle Amosun, Dimeji Bankole, Ekiti State Governor Kayode Fayemi and Godswill Akpabio.
They asked their supporters to vote for Tinubu, just as the only female aspirant, Mrs Uju Ken-Ohanenye, followed suit.
Tinubu will face Atiku Abubakar, candidate of the opposition Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) and candidates of other parties in the February 2023 presidential election.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here