Over 50,000 terrorists surrender to troops, says DHQ



By Sylvanus Tyoakaa Abuja

The Defence Headquarters (DHQ) say a total of 53,262 terrorists and their families comprising men, women and children have so far surrendered to own troops as at 16 of May 2022 so far.
Director, Defence Media Operations (DMO) Major General Benard Onyeuko, disclosed this in Abuja while briefing journalists on the successes recorded by the military between May 1- 14, 2022.
He said troops rescued 63 civilians, neutralized 42 terrorists, while 20 terrorists were arrested in the last two weeks.
Onyeuko stressed that based on intelligence report, troops arrested one Mallam Modu Goni a terrorist and logistics supplier at Bunin Yadi Market, while Mallam mModu Pantami was also apprehended at the outskirt of Benishied village in Kaga Local Government Area while attempting to transport large quantity of logistics items he purchased for onward supply to terrorist at Gomari village in Fere Local Government Area of Borno State.
He also said troops in conjunction with Nigerian Drug Law enforcement Agency (NDLEA) conducted raid operations in a suspected drug hideout at Effurum in Urwie Local Government Area of Delta State.
The Defence spokesman said, during the operations, troops arrested some drug barons namely; Mrs Ughanekvwo Unagha, Mr Festus Baron, Mr Okumaba Eanaguono, Mr Ahmed Agbamu, Mr David Mene, Mr Unagha Paul, Mr Edirin Thomas, Mr Osanege Solomon, Mr Samuel Juwon and Mr Degbe Andy.
He said, “Items recovered from them include 2.460kg of cannabis, 0.0703kg of cocaine, 0.054kg of meth, 0.067kg of loud, 0.654kg of cannabis seeds, 1 tablet of molly, I pump action with 15 cartridgs, 1 toyota hilux and Mercedes Benz car.
“In furtherance, to rid the zone of illegal oil theft, troops conducted anti-crude oil theft, anti-smuggling, raid operations and patrols in locations such as; Akantu Creek in Warri North Local Government Area, Tibo Ajuomo Creek in Warri South Local Government Area, Effunim in Urwie Local Government Area of Delta State.
“Other locations were; East-West road, Mbiama in Ahoada Local Government Area, Elele in Eleme Local Government Area, Rumuekpe in Emohua Local Government Area, Awoba in Degema Local Government Area of River State and Akenfa in Yenagoa Local Government Area of Bayelsa State respectively.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here