APC nominates Akpabio, Abass for senate president, speaker


The ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) has officially announced the nomination of the immediate past Minister of Niger Delta Affairs, Senator Godwin Akpabio, as its consensus candidate for the position of Senate presidency in the 10th Assembly.
It nominated the Chairman of the Senate Committee on Appropriation, Senator Jibrin Barau, for the position of Deputy Senate President.
The party also nominated Tajudeen Abass, from Kaduna state, in the northwest zone for the position of speaker House of Representatives while the reps-elect from South East clinched the Deputy Speaker slot.
Addressing a news conference in Abuja at the end of a crucial meeting of the National Working Committee of the party, the National Publicity Secretary, Felix Morka, said only the zoning of two principal offices in both the Senate and House of Representatives has so far been decided.
Morka, assured that the leadership of the party will continue to consult with stakeholders.
He said, the zoning and consensus candidates were done in consultation with the president-elect, Asiwaju Bola Tinubu, at a meeting held on Friday.
Morka said: “The National Working Committee of the All Progressives Congress (APC) met today to consider reports of consultations and meetings held with the President-elect, His Excellency, Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu, other Party leaders and stakeholders on zoning arrangements for 10th National Assembly leadership positions.
“The NWC noted with respect the outcome of the meetings held between the President-Elect and the leadership of the NWC.
“The NWC called for further and better consultation with necessary stakeholders in order to assure the support of the aspirants to the National Assembly leadership positions and members of the Party nationwide.
“The zoning arrangement reported to the NWC is as follows: SENATE: Senate President – South-South Senator Godswill Akpabio (Akwa Ibom); Deputy Senate President – North West-Senator Barau Jubrin (Kano).
“HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES: Speaker. House of Representatives North West-Hon. Abass Tajudeen (Kaduna) and Deputy Speaker South East-Hon. Ben Kalu (Abia).
“We urge our party leaders, members and all Nigerians to continue to work for peace and progress of our country during and beyond the current period of leadership transition.”


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here