Ajaero, elected NLC President


Former general secretary of the National Union of Electricity Employees (NUEE), Joe Ajaero, has emerged president of the Nigerian Labour Congress (NLC).
Ajaero who takes over from Ayuba Wabba, won on consensus vote at the 13th NLC national delegates conference on Wednesday in Abuja.
In his acceptance speech, the new NLC president promised to pursuing the interest and desires of workers and Nigerians.
He also promised that his leadership would speak for the millions of Nigerians and also seek a platform to lift them out of poverty.
”We, therefore, pledge our loyalty to the NLC, workers, the Nigerian people and the country. Our thoughts and actions shall be propelled by this avowal,” Ajaero said.
He added that his leadership will pursue a new national minimum wage law that will take into consideration the reality of the socio-economic situation, and expand its reach to capture more workers.
According to him, the wage review law will be addressed through the national labour advisory council, to ensure that all loopholes exploited by employers on making workplaces more decent, are blocked.
“We urge all employers of labour who have unsettled issues with their workers and unions to immediately resolve them to avoid our intervention,” he said.
Ajaero urged the government to review the privatisation policy on the electricity sector.
Other members of the executives elected include Adewale Adeyanju, deputy national president; Audu Amber, deputy national president; Kabiru Sani, also a deputy national president.
Others elected are Ambali Olatunji, national treasurer; Benjamin Anthony, vice-president; Steve Okoro, vice-president; Michael Nnachi, vice-president; Olawole Sunday, vice-president; Marwan Adamu, financial secretary; Williams Akporeha, national trustee; as well as Babatunde Olatunji, Mohammed Ibrahim and Haruna Ibrahim as internal auditors.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here