Adeleke wins Osun governorship election


The Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) candidate, Ademola Adeleke, has emerged winner of the Osun governorship election which held Saturday.
The result of the election was announced on Sunday morning by the returning officer of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), Toyin Ogundipe.
According to Ogundipe, Adeleke polled 403, 371 votes to defeat incumbent Governor Gboyega Oyetola of the All Progressives Congress (APC), who polled 375,027 votes.
The PDP candidate won 17 of the 30 Local Government Areas while the incumbent governor won the remaining 13.
The candidate of the Action Democratic Party (ADP), Kehinde Atanda came a distant third with 10,104 votes while Yusuf Lasun, former deputy Speaker of the House of Representatives and candidate of the Labour Party (LP) scored 2729 votes.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here