Kaduna council polls: APC wins 8 chairmanship, PDP wins one


Nine results of Saturday’s council polls in Kaduna state were announced on Sunday with the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC), winning eight while the APC won one.  The results were announced at the various Local Government Headquarters by returning officers of the Kaduna State Independent Electoral Commission (KADSIECOM).
According to the results so far released in nine of the 19 LGAs where elections were held, the APC won in Sabon Gari, Jama’a, Kagarko, Zaria, Igabi, Kubau, Kudan and Lere LGAs while the PDP won in Kaura.
In Sabon, the candidate of the APC, Mohammed Usman, emerged as chairman having polled 32,405 to defeat his closest contender, Abdu Bello of the PDP who got 13,777 votes.
The results were declared in Sabon Gari, Zaria, by the Returning Officer, Abubakar-Mohammed Sadiq.
The APC won in Jama’a LGA, one of its strongholds of the PDP.
Announcing the results in Kafanchan, the Returning Officer, Dr. Sunday Ibrahim, said, Yunana Barde of the APC, scored 24, 255 votes to defeat the candidate of the PDP, Peter Averik who scored 23, 215 votes.
APC also won seven out of the 12 councillor seats while the PDP won five.
In Kagarko, the APC’s Nasara Rabo, polled 20,558 to defeat Caleb Pius, of the PDP who got 14,494.
The results were announced in Kagarko by the Returning Officer, Dr. Musa Makarfi.
In Kaura, the Returning Officer, Mr. Mande Hosea, declared Mathias Siman of the PDP winner of the chairmanship seat.
Announcing the results in Manchok, Hosea, said Siman, polled 19,505 votes while Adamu Donatus of the APC got 10,942 votes.
The PDP also won 9 of the 10 councillor seats while the APC won one.
The APC candidate in Zaria, Aliyu Ibrahim, won the chairmanship with 34,007 votes to defeat Yusuf Sambo of the PDP who polled 14,019 votes
The results were announced in Zaria, by the Returning Officer, Dr. Aliyu Muhammed Yamusa.
The APC’s Jabir Khamis won the chairmanship election in Igabi LGA.
According to the Returning Officer, Dr. Mustapha Musa, Khamis polled 29,804 votes to defeat Dr. Ibrahim Yusha’u of the PDP who scored 10,865 votes.
In Kubau, the
Returning Officer, Dayyabu Mohammed, said Bashir Zuntu of the APC polled 23,973 to
defeated Isah-Rabiu Imam, of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) who polled 9, 038 votes.
In Kudan, the Returning Officer, Mr. Haruna Abdu, declared Alhaji Shuaibu Jaja of the APC as the winner of chairmanship election.
He scored Jaja scored 18,129 votes to defeat Ibrahim Shehu PDP who scored 16, 123 votes.
In Lere LGA, Alhaji Abubakar Buba of the APC was declared winner, having scoring 36, 389 votes to defeat Dalhat Abu-Dadda’i of the PDP who scored 24, 294 votes.
Results in 10 LGAs were being expected.
The elections were conducted with the electronic voting voting machine.
Elections in four council areas, namely, Chikun, Kajuru, Birnin Gwari and Zangon Kataf, were rescheduled for September 25, 2021, due to security concerns.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here